The Beastie Boys were an American hip hop group from New York City formed in 1980. For most of its career, the group consisted of Michael “Mike D” Diamond (vocals/drums), Adam “MCA” Yauch (vocals/bass) and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz (vocals/guitar). Originally formed as a four-piece hardcore punk band, The Young Aborigines, in 1978 by Diamond, John Berry, Yauch and Kate Schellenbach the band appeared on the compilation cassette New York Thrash, before recording their first EP, Polly Wog Stew, in 1982. Berry left shortly thereafter and was replaced by Horovitz. After achieving modest local success with their 1983 experimental hip hop 12-inch “Cooky Puss”, Schellenbach quit the band and the group made a full transition to hip hop, releasing a string of successful singles. The Beastie Boys toured with Madonna in 1985 and a year later released their debut album Licensed to Ill. The group sold 26 million albums in the United States and 50 million albums worldwide, making them, according to Billboard, “the biggest selling rap group” since the magazine began recording sales data in 1991.

Lissome Art Studio are proud to introduce a range of stylish limited edition art prints dedicated to the Beastie Boys.  Each typography poster is individually signed and numbered featuring song titles and lyrics from the Beastie Boys albums and most notable recordings.